Alligator Alley

After taking in the the sunrise at the beach we set off for Naples via the Florida Turnpike and I-75 (a.k.a. Alligator Alley)

For a change I put my camera down and enjoyed the ride. The turnpike was heavy with weekend traffic and the radio was pumping out good tunes, the miles just flew by.

Our first stop was the Welcome Center on the east end of I-75 near Ft. Lauderdale. It is actually quite nice, there is a large building with facilities and 3 or 4 wildlife viewing areas scattered about the property. A piece of friendly advice – skip the Center on the west side near Naples…. eww…. so bad! (Found this out on the way home)

We sat at one of the roadside lots near a boat launch and had our lunch – a roast beef sandwich and chips, with white grapes and blueberries for a treat. With a full belly I decided to take at least a few pictures to remember the ‘Glades.’

