Upgrade baby! Nikon D3200

Yesterday I received something I have longed for. A new digital camera. My trusty ole Sony cyber-shot 5 mp point and shoot has been a trooper. We have been through moves, snow, hiking, boating, fishing, dropping it… and it still works. It is at least 12 years old and in camera years (digital cameras) it is an ‘old timer.’ I figured the motor on the lens would have given out by now. I can’t buy new memory cards for it because I can’t find them and the ones I have will hold approx 120 – 150 images total. That meant being very choosy about what I took pics of when going out on a day trip.

In the last few months since starting this blog I have mastered my Sony. I was becoming frustrated that I couldn’t get the quality images I craved. I kept saying ‘if I had a good camera…’ or ‘I can’t wait to get a new camera.’

Well finally the day has come. I got a Nikon D3200 digital camera with a 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens. I went from 5 mp to 24 – a huge leap. I never thought I would spend this much for a camera, but I am thrilled! The un-boxing was like Christmas and my birthday all rolled into one!Β  Now I want all kinds of extras – lenses, accessories, etc. It’s like owning a boat, there is no end to the $$ I could sink in to this!!

I feel a bit overwhelmed too. So much is in my control now, I can’t blame bad images or blur on my camera anymore. I have to make the effort and learn the art of using a camera and lens properly. Get off the training wheels of auto and become a photographer!!

So have patience with me and I will try to have patience with myself. I want to know everything now, but of course, learning on my own – will take some time. I’m sure it is like driving a car – eventually it becomes second nature, but at first it’s a little nerve-wracking!

I would like to share some of my very first images with you – it was so cloudy and dark yesterday evening, horrible light for trying out a camera. That did not stop me from taking over 300 images! I haven’t processed these any, I just wanted to see what it could do. It’s not my favorite grouping, but trust me, there will be more to come πŸ™‚

d mcd park_249

d mcd park_250

